How I first met Audrey Hepburn…

audreylifemagphoto(14)

If you don’t know it yet, pretty soon you will figure it out- I am a huge Audrey Hepburn fan. I could probably write blog after blog about her! There is so much more to Audrey Hepburn than the Givenchy black dress & Tiffany’s.

photo(15)  photo(17)

I was first introduced to Audrey one summer in my early teen years.  I grew up in a small tiny town where there was absolutely nothing to do! I spent my summers reading and watching old movies.  I would walk to the library at least once a week.  Besides books, I was also allowed to check out two movies at a time.  The movies the library had were mostly old classics.  One of those movies happened to be Roman Holiday.  I liked Audrey Hepburn’s character so much that I wanted to learn more about the actress. As I learned more about her, I began to admire her for much more than her work in movies. She was truly one of a kind.

I have so many  favorite scenes & quotes from Roman Holiday.  For example, Audrey Hepburn’s character recites a poem that I absolutely love:

If I were dead and buried, and I heard your voice; Beneath the sod, my heart would still rejoice.

Wow-that speaks to true everlasting love.  If you haven’t watched Roman Holiday yet, you have to go buy it now! No Valentine’s Day plans? Have a movie night with your girlfriends and watch this romantic comedy. Or with your significant other. Make it a theme night with Italian food, wine & champagne! It beats going to a crowded restaurant where you will probably have to wait an hour or longer for a table.

**ATTENTION: Fellow Audrey Hepburn fans, there is an Audrey Hepburn Life Magazine reissue on newsstands now until 4/12/2013.  It’s full of photographs by her photographer Bob Willoughby.  They seem to come out with a reissue every 5 years because I have the one from 2008.  I did not even realize there was another reissue out this year until my mother-in-law presented me with it. **

And so I leave you now with a memorable scene from Roman Holiday:

Princess Ann: I hate this nightgown. I hate all my nightgowns, and I hate all my underwear too.
Countess: My dear, you have lovely things.
Princess Ann: But I’m not two hundred years old. Why can’t I sleep in pajamas?
Countess: Pajamas?
Princess Ann: Just the top part. Did you know that there are people who sleep with absolutely nothing on at all?
Countess: I rejoice to say I do not.

Bisous

Aida

Leave a Reply

