When in Rome..

FLASHBACK FRIDAY!!! Prego!

In 2009, my husband and I went on holiday to Italy & France.  We spent most of the time in Rome and took side-trips to Venice & Paris. We chose Rome since one of my favorite movies is Roman Holiday.   I wanted to visit some of the places Audrey Hepburn goes to in the movie. Sadly, I don’t remember having champagne while sitting outside of a café.  I did drink lots of wine, ate a lot of pizza, pasta and of course gelato. I had gelato for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

At the Boca de la verita

Bocca della Verita

Colosseo, 2009

Colosseo, 2009

At the Spanish Steps.

Fontana di Trevi

Vatican City

Vatican City

We stayed in the charming Trastevere neighborhood in Rome. We wanted to be among the Romans and didn’t want to stay in the touristy areas.  We stayed in a bed and breakfast right in the heart of the neighborhood.  We booked a room & even got our own private bathroom.  It really is a lovely neighborhood. I remember looking out my window and watching the locals go about their business.  Parents walking their children to school, the locals on their way to work, the bakeries opening up– just a typical day in the life of the Romans.

The restaurants were tiny and the food was delicious! I fell in love with their Penne all’Arrabbiata. This pasta has a kick to it, arrabbiata does mean angry after all.  I love spicy food, so I had this dish several times during our stay in Rome.

IMG_0814 IMG_0813

Eating my fave: Penne Arrabiata

Eating my fave: Penne Arrabbiata

IMG_0705

Just thinking about the food, especially the gelato, makes me want to go back sooner than later.

If you are planning to visit Rome make sure to visit the Trastevere neighborhood. They have several bars and restaurants in this lovely neighborhood. And remember, “When in Rome, do as the Romans.”

Baci e abbracci!

Aida

Leave a Reply

