Skimmies: A Modern Woman’s Slip

The Modern Women's Slip

A few months back, I was flipping through a fashion magazine when an ad for Skimmies caught my eye. Rachel Zoe was pictured in the ad, along with a model in a pair of Skimmies under a skirt. I was intrigued and wanted to find out more about them. I found out Skimmies are slips….. slipshorts that is. I automatically loved the idea! A slip to wear under dresses and skirts but in a short-style. Finally, a slip for the modern day woman! To be honest with you, I probably have not worn a slip since I was a kid. I don’t find slips comfortable or very fashionable.

As soon as I was able to, I stopped by Kohl’s to pick up a pair of Skimmies. They come in a variety of colors and in both long & short lengths. I opted for a nude color one in a short length. I was concerned about how they would actually feel once they were on. And I wondered if it would become uncomfortable to wear in this Texas summer heat. I’ve worn Spanx before and I actually feel fatter in them than without them on. To be fair, Spanx and Skimmies are too different things. Skimmies are not meant to suck you in, but to add coverage underneath your skirt/dresses. Skimmies will not make you flatter but will give you a smoother silhouette. The material is very light, but a tad heavier than pantyhose.

In August, I celebrated my 30th birthday in NYC. While on this trip, I decided to try out my new Skimmies under a skirt. I spent the day exploring the city in my new Skimmies. The material is so smooth that it wears very comfortably.  It also prevents panty lines. I love my Skimmies. Now, I wear them all the time with skirts and dresses. You could even wear them under pants for a smoother silhouette.

Skimmies are made by Jockey and cost around $20. I bought mine at Kohl’s, but you can also find them at Macy’s and even on QVC (2 for $35). Skimmies are Rachel Zoe Preferred & now they are also Bonjour Chica Preferred!

Leave a Reply

