Are You Ready for Halloween 2013??

wonderwoman

At my son’s Superhero birthday party earlier this year

Halloween is right around the corner!! Do you have a costume picked out yet??

I don’t think I am going all out this year with a Halloween costume. Lately, my costumes have not been very Halloweenish. What I mean is that Halloween use to be about witches, black cats, ghosts, Draculas and Frankensteins. Or at least that is how I remember it as a child. Halloween has lost some of its scariness and now seems to be about how creative you can get. You see all kinds of costumes from loofah’s to Lady Gaga to the Royal couple. And then there are the inappropriate sexy Princess costumes. There is nothing wrong with wanting to be sexy on All Hallow’s Eve, but maybe stay away from Disney characters.

I love Halloween and I have been one of those who have usually opted for the creative type of costume. During my college years, I admit I did take the sexy costume route, (never a Disney character though!) from a school girl costume to a VS model (tastefully done of course). In my defense, I ended up with the school girl outfit because I wasn’t planning on wearing a costume. You see it was my freshmen year in college and I didn’t really bring much with me, certainly not a costume. My friends, the five-dollar crack whore & fairy pressured me and with only a few minutes before the party, we had to use what was in my closet. If I remember correctly, it was a white button down shirt with a grey sweater vest and a plaid skirt. One of my dorm neighbors let me borrow her high-platform Mary Jane shoes. And so that’s how I ended up with that costume. But hey we WON the costume contest! My five-dollar crack whore friend and I each won a $20 gift card to a local restaurant. As college students that meant we could eat that weekend! Just kidding…kind of.

This year, I am going to a work-lunch Halloween costume party. I think I am going to just throw my Wonder Woman t-shirt on and call it my costume. I am not feeling very creative this year, but who knows I might suddenly want to be a twerking Miley Cyrus..not!

If you still haven’t decided on a costume, Visually has 15 infographics to help you decide. You should check them out!

Here are two of the infographics I found particularly interesting: halloween-popcostume-index_524ee90f291e6_w934

a-costume-for-every-era_50290d7930917

(Source: Visually.com 15 Halloween Info)

Leave a Reply

