Petite Fashionista à la Mode: Brittany

Brittany

Northern VA • Blogger at LifeChangesii • Height: 5’0″

brittanypf

“I love being petite.”

Inside My Closet: Work


I am an elementary school teacher and this is a typical outfit that I would wear to work. I think it’s professional enough to wear to parent-teacher conferences, as well as casual enough to wear on the weekends. The scarf is from Kohls Department store. I love wearing infinity scarves because I find they are not too big on my frame. This scarf is my favorite because you can mix and match the pants or the shirt to create completely different looks.

The cardigan(s) is from the Gap. I do not have to shop in the petite section for shirts, so this was found in their clearance section for $9.99. A steal!

My shoes (6 1/2) are from Zara. I am very particular about my shoes. I never wear shoes with heels, pointed, thick soles, or shoes that I think make my feet look too long. These nude flats are perfect. In my opinion, petite women should stick with dainty classic shoes.

And I saved the best for last-PANTS. I have the hardest time finding pants…especially…drum roll please…dress pants. No surprise, right? These pants (4/6) are actually from Target (Mossimo Skinny Fit). My Target does not have a petite section. I can always find these in the Juniors area. I have these pants in a variety of colors. They fit my waist and leg length perfectly. If I ever find a pair that are too long, I tuck them under. I have seen some petite women who cuff their pants. I think this shortens the leg even more and makes you look stubby. Tucking them under gives you a clean straight look. And in my opinion, it can even add one teeny tiny inch to your legs.

Where I Like to Shop

I shop at the Gap, J.Crew, and Target. I have never been to a tailor and I have never purchased petite pants. I find that I can never go wrong with finding ankle pants at these three places. I did have the opportunity to try on a pair of petite pants from Gap that were purchased online & returned to the store, they did not fit my waist or thighs. The length was not the best either. Try shopping at Gap & J. Crew and ask for ankle pants. My tip for shopping at Target would be finding the Skinny Fit or Regular Fit pants and skip the Bootcut.

Brittany @
TwitterBloglovin

petitefashionistas1

Petite Fashionistas à la Mode is a series to show the world (& the fashion industry) women come in more than one size. If you are petite (5’4″ and under) then consider participating by sending an e-mail to bonjourchica@ymail.com

6 thoughts on “Petite Fashionista à la Mode: Brittany

    • I’ve got to check out J.Crew and Gap for ankle pants! There is a J.Crew in my area where everyone that works there is 6 ft. tall, so I always feel weird going in there 🙂 But there’s another one that has normal sized people as well.

Leave a Reply

