Petite Fashionista à la Mode: Mariel

Mariel

Valletta, Malta • Blogger at Confessions of a Former Size 6 • Height: 4’11”

My Fashion Style

The reality is what it is: I am not even 5′ tall and to make things worse, I am curvy. Too curvy for my height, I feel. I used to be a size 6 (US size 4) but I’ve put on a bit of weight…and in my mid-30’s now, it’s getting harder to lose the extra pounds. Anyway, as long as I can remember, my height was always a topic of conversation, however rather than focusing on the more tongue-in-cheek comments, I choose to focus on those who tell me I look like a doll 🙂 And this somewhat inspires my personal style. I play such comments up to my advantage. I quite love retro styles so wearing skater dresses, full-skirts with nipped-in waists is right up my street. I like to find dresses in a single block colour which do make me look taller and I always look out for a statement collar or wear a statement necklace or patterned scarf if the dress is collar-less. On the other hand, I also like the Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen approach to dressing a petite figure: maxi dresses, boyfriend sweaters, jackets, over-sized shades and bags give off an effortless elegance which I feel I have an eye for…despite the whole look possibly coming across as more “casual.”

My Advice for Petites

My advice to fellow petite fashionistas is not to let size get you down. Focus on your favorite assets and make them your trademark not your height. Also, forget about tall celebrities for style inspiration–look at how the A-list petites are wearing the current trends and make them your muses. My personal favorites are the Olsen sisters, Mira Duma, Nicole Richie, and Kourtney Kardashian.

Don’t be afraid to try new trends. You might not be able to carry off every single one of the latest fashions, but find one which you can adapt to your height (e.g. the recent Dolce & Gabbana and Valentino embroidered dresses are too beautiful for words and their shape is perfect for a doll-like look).

My Favorite Quote

In Maltese, we have the saying “Iz-zghir kollu helu” which loosely translated means “all that’s small is cute”….how’s that for an ego-booster for us petites?

Where I Like to Shop

My personal favorites are Zara and ASOS (own brand). The petite range at ASOS is the perfect length and doesn’t need any alteration. Zara clothing, being a Spanish brand allows for the typical Mediterranean figure, which I find most convenient! Whenever I need a little alteration, I’m lucky enough to have an ex-seamstress for mum to come to my rescue!

Mariel @

TwitterFacebook Tumblr

petitefashionistas1

Petite Fashionistas à la Mode is a series to show the world (& the fashion industry) women come in more than one size. If you are petite (5’4″ and under) then consider participating by sending an e-mail to bonjourchica@ymail.com

3 thoughts on “Petite Fashionista à la Mode: Mariel

Leave a Reply

