Books You Should Read: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

mindykalingbook

As much as I love reading, I am surprised by how very few books I have shared with you. And I can’t believe that I didn’t read a book in January. Mostly it was due to not knowing what to read. That’s the hardest for me, deciding on what to read next. Unless, I have book suggestions from friends. And either I have a lot of suggestions or I have none. I really wanted to find a book to read while Audrey was in her ballet class. So last week while at Target, I noticed Mindy Kaling’s book and thought this should be entertaining.

I loved Mindy Kaling as Kelly Kapoor on The Office. I thought she was the funniest character on there. She always made me laugh, so I was quite sad when she didn’t appear as much towards the end of The Office. However, now I have The Mindy Project! I am so looking forward  to it coming back on April 1st! This show makes me want to work at a fun office like hers, or work with someone like her. She’s so smart, funny, & so into fashion.

If you want a lighthearted, funny book with random advice then this your book. This is just a little excerpt from her book, just in the first few pages.

“However, you should know I disagree with a lot of traditional advice. For instance, they say the best revenge is living well. I say it’s acid in the face–who will love them now?”

Which by the way, I was laughing out loud, literally lol’ing. The other parents probably thought something was wrong with me. I have to agree with her on her thoughts on revenge though, not that I am advocating violence. Especially not throwing acid in someones face. But come on just living well? Maybe just go a little “Brandi Glanville” on them and at least slash the tires? No?

So the book in a nutshell: Mindy tells you a little about her life from childhood to where she is now, with random thoughts here and there. For example, she shares her karaoke etiquette and best friend rights & responsibilities. There is even bit of romance.

I really enjoyed this book and looking forward to read her next one. I feel like I know her after reading her book. Like I could just call her up and say, “hey Mindy, let’s go have lunch.” So Mindy, no it’s the opposite…everyone wants to hangout with you!

Oh and for those of you who loved Kelly Kapoor as much I did, here you go:

2 thoughts on “Books You Should Read: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

  1. A lot of people have been talking about this book. There was even an article about it that I never got to read. I am still working on one of my books I started in January. I am so tired at night I just forget to read it.

Leave a Reply

