Thrift Store Shopping Tips for Petites

thrifttipsforpetites(Photo Source: Flickr Creative Commons, has been modified from original source)

 

Thrift shopping can be fun for some, but for me it use to be frustrating. Being petite, clothes shopping in general can be difficult so thrifting always ended up as a fail for me.

I would be so excited about it up to the point I actually walked in. How could I possibly find something trendy AND in my size? I would give up right away and walk away with nothing. Yet, I know people who go thrifting and they always seem to find great pieces at fab prices. I always thought it was because they were not petite that they had better luck than I. However, after a recent trip to a few local thrift shops and some research I found out thrifting is possible even for us petites.

I found these thrifting tips for petites very helpful (in fact I even finally bought a few trendy pieces for myself!):

Be Patient

This is probably the one thing I was not doing in my prior thrifting excursions. I would walk in expecting a “petite” section. I did not have the patience to look through the clutter of clothes.

Go with the mindset that this shopping adventure will take both time to do some digging and lots of patience. Don’t give up after looking at a couple of things.

Have a Plan

I found out that having a plan made thrifting so much easier. When I went knowing exactly what I wanted and planned accordingly then I did much better than when I just went in without knowing what I wanted.

Since the weather is pleasant and it is only going to get warmer, I knew that I really wanted to find at least a dress and/or a skirt. So when I went thrift shopping last week, I checked out the skirts/dresses racks first, then moved on to tops & blazers. Blazers are great in all seasons. During spring & summer they are perfect for the office over a sleeveless top or dress. Plus, I really just wanted to expand my blazer collection.

Regardless of when you go thrifting, just make sure you have a plan as to what you would like to find as it helps keep you both on budget and will save you some time at the store.

Re-Fashion

This a great tip I found through Pinterest. Keep an eye out for clothing pieces you can easily refashion. If you find something you love–maybe it’s the fabric or print on an item, don’t give up on it just because it’s too big. Some clothing items have great potential, you just have to be a little creative.

If you know how to sew, or have a relative inexpensive tailor, then go ahead and buy that too-big for you clothing item.

Need to be inspired? Check out what these fashion bloggers did with their thrift finds.

refashioncollageTo see how Extra Petite transformed a blouse into a cute top, click here. Are you into florals? Then check out Ruffles & Stuff for their floral dress diy or Cotton Curl’s floral skirt project. Need a new dress for the office–then Our Life is Beautiful has a DIY for a peplum dress.

Check Out the Big Kids Section

If you sometimes check out the big kids (children’s) section at the major retailers then you should do the same at thrift stores. Plus their prices might be even less, meaning you will save even more!

Go Often

Regardless of whether you are petite or not, your best chances of finding great clothing pieces is by going to the thrift store often. They are always getting new items so if you don’t have much luck one week, then instead of giving up (like I had done in the past) give it a try on a different day or the following week.

After trying out these tips for myself, I realized…I actually enjoy thrifting! Just remember…Don’t give up. Don’t get frustrated. Try again!

Do any of you have any other thrifting tips for petites?

 

signa1

 

4 thoughts on “Thrift Store Shopping Tips for Petites

  1. Pingback: Petite Thrift Store Finds |

  2. What a great post idea! I haven’t gone thrifting since high school, bc I didn’t want to deal with the frustration. I also can’t believe some of the refashions…like the woman who made the peplum dress…OMG…I would never have guessed that it used to be a big tee 🙂

  3. Pingback: Lamp Shade Makeover |

Leave a Reply

